Monday, March 27, 2023 | Ramadan 4, 1444 H
clear sky
23°C / 23°C

Seeb, Al Nasr drawn in same group

OHL champions Ahli Sidab headline second group


Muscat, Nov 15

The Oman Hockey Association held the HM Cup 2022 draw for 52nd edition of the hockey championship on Tuesday under the auspices of Sayyid Louay bin Ghalib al Said, in presence of Dr Marwan bin Juma al Juma, OHA Chairman. Eight clubs will take part in this edition namely Sohar, Ahli Sidab, Al Nasr, Seeb, Bausher, Salalah, Saham and Nizwa.

OHA Chairman Dr Marwan bin Juma al Juma said hockey has a rich tradition in Oman.

“Hockey is one of the sports that has received high attention since the beginning of the Blessed Renaissance until today. Hockey is considered the oldest sports in the Sultanate of Oman since the 19th century, so that the precious cup was the first Omani sports championship bearing the name of His Majesty the Sultan’s Cup in 1971. The Oman Hockey Association is making efforts to make hockey a sport that has a wide presence in the country by holding local championships and events, supporting and empowering clubs, as well as strengthening relations with regional, continental and international federations, and seeking to organise international events.”

“The Oman Hockey Association is preparing to host the Hockey5s World Cup in January 2024. This important international sporting event will put the Sultanate of Oman on the map of international sporting events in general, and hockey tournaments in particular. We have launched out women’s hockey team during the past period,” Dr Juma said.

In the HM’s Cup 2022, the teams were divided into two groups.

Defending champions Sohar Club are placed in the first group, while Oman Hockey League champions Ahli Sidab heads the second group.

The first group included Sohar, Seeb, Al Nasr, Bausher and the second group includes Ahli Sidab, Nizwa, Salalah and Saham.

The teams will play in a one-round league system, so that the first and second groups will qualify for the semifinal round, after which the third and fourth play for the bronze medal, while the first and second play for the championship cup and win the silver and gold medals.

The edition in 2002 was won by Ahli Sidab Club after its victory in the final match over Bausher.



As for the first club that won the honour of winning the championship title, it was Oman Club in 1971. and also won the championship in 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, Al Ahly Club in 1976, 1977, 1978, Al Nahda Club 1979, Police Team 1980, 1981, Al Nahda Club 1982, 1983, 1984, Muttrah Club 1985, Sidab Club 1986 and Muttrah Club 1987. Oman Club 1988, Muttrah Club 1989, Seeb Club 1990, Sidab Club 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1994, Seeb Club 1995, Sidab Club 1996 and 1997, Seeb Club 1998, Sidab Club 1999, Al Bustan Club 2000 and 2001, Seeb Club 2002, Sidab Club 2003, Seeb Club 2004, Muscat Club 2005, Ahli Sidab Club 2006, 2007, Al Bustan Club Al Nasr 2008, Oman Club 2009 and 2010, Al Nasr Club 2011 and 2012, Ahly Sidab Club 2013 and 2014, Al Nasr Club 2015, Al Nasr Club 2016, Al Seeb 2017, Ahli Sidab Club in 2018, Al Nasr Club in 2019, Al Nasr Club in 2020, then Sohar Club in 2021.

arrow up
home icon