Sunday, February 05, 2023 | Rajab 13, 1444 H
clear sky
21°C / 21°C

HH Sayyid Theyazin to patronise Aga Khan Award for Architecture 

Muscat - HH Sayyid Theyazin bin Haitham al Said, Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth, will patronize the 15th edition of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture at the Royal Opera House Muscat on October 31, which is being hosted by the Sultanate of Oman for the first time.

This year's event, which also marks the 45th anniversary of the award, saw the participation of 463 projects.

The winners are Urban River Spaces, Jhenaidah and Community Spaces in Rohingya Refugee Response, Cox’s Bazar from Bangladesh, Banyuwangi International airport, Blimbingsari, East Java from Indonesia, Argo Contemporary Art Museum and Cultural Centre, Tehran, Iran, Renovation of Niemeyer Guest House, Tripoli, Lebanon, and Kamanar Secondary School, Thick Essyl, Senegal.

The winners will share the $1 million award, one of the largest cash rewards for architecture that reflects the concern for communities, innovation, and the environment.

For the first time. the Aga Khan Awards for Architecture and Music are held in one country, that too in an Arab country.

The Music Awad ceremony will be patronized by Bilarab bin Haitham al Said will patronize on October 30.

The winners are Zakir Hussain (India), Afel Bocoum (Mali), Asin Khan Langa (India), Coumbane Mint Ely Warakane (Mauritania), Daud Khan Sadozai (Afghanistan), Peni Candra Rini (Indonesia), Soumik Datta (UK), Yahya Hussein Abdallah (Tanzania), Yasamin Shahhosseini (Iran), and Zarsanga (Pakistan).

A number of competitors received special mentions for their outstanding contributions to the field of music and they are Dilshad Khan (India), Golshan Ensemble (Iran), Sain Zahoor (Pakistan), Seyyed Mohammad Musavi & Mahoor Institute (Iran), and Zulkifli and Bur’am (Aceh, Indonesia).

His Highness Sayyid Kamil bin Fahd al Said, Secretary-General of the General Secretariat of the Council of Ministers, will patronize the performances by Royal Oman Symphony Orchestra and the Aga Khan Music on October 29.

HH Sayyid Dr. Fahad bin Al Julanda al Said is sponsoring a symposium for the winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2022, which will be held between 9 am and 1 pm at the Majan Hall at Al-Bustan Palace Hotel. The symposium will be attended by the most experts, academics, and architects from both within and outside the Sultanate of Oman,

The first session will focus on infrastructure in the context of the Sultanate of Oman, and the second session will revolve around the social impact of architecture in the context of the Sultanate of Oman.

Saeed bin Sultan al Busaidi, Undersecretary of the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Youth for Culture, said, The ceremonies for the distribution of the Aga Khan Awards for Architecture and Music 2022 in the Sultanate of Oman will help academics, researchers, musicians, and architects to learn about the latest developments and interact with winners from different countries of the world.

The celebrations will be held at the House of Musical Arts at the Royal Opera of Muscat and will see the participation of around 250 guests from around the world, members of the Steering Awards Committee, arbitration, finalists, and winners of the Architecture and Music Awards.

Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established in 1977. It seeks to identify, encourage and promote building concepts that successfully meet the needs and aspirations of communities where Muslims have had a significant presence since the inception of the award 45 years ago. 128 projects have received the award and nearly 10,000 building projects have been documented.

The Aga Khan Award for Music was established in 2018 and is held every three years to celebrate exceptional and promising talents, as well as specialized projects in all fields of music — right from performance to innovation and education, with the overall goal of preserving and reviving musical traditions in societies where Muslims have a large presence around the world. A sum of $500,000 is earmarked for winners.

arrow up
home icon