Sunday, March 26, 2023 | Ramadan 3, 1444 H
clear sky
23°C / 23°C

Travel ban to UK from March 19

MUSCAT, MARCH 16 - Travellers from four countries, including Oman, will be subject to a travel ban to UK from March 19. From 4 am on March 19, visitors who have departed from or transited through Oman, Ethiopia, Somalia and Qatar in the previous 10 days will be refused entry into England. Only British and Irish citizens, or those with residence rights (including long-term visa holders), will be allowed to enter and must stay in a government-approved facility for 10 days.

British nationals currently in the countries on the red list should make use of the commercial options available if they wish to return to England. Commercial routes that will enable them to return to England continue to operate. Oman’s Cultural Attache in London has issued a statement, “We regret to inform you that from March 19, Oman will be on the red list for travellers to and from the United Kingdom, and we hope the tickets of everyone who booked to travel to the Sultanate during the spring break (Easter) will be arranged.”

Portugal and Mauritius have been removed from England’s travel red list in the first major change to rules for international arrivals in months. It means people will be allowed to travel from the two countries and non-British residents and nationals who were previously allowed to do so will no longer have to quarantine in a hotel but can spend the time at home instead.

arrow up
home icon