Wednesday, February 21, 2024 | Sha'ban 10, 1445 H
clear sky
20°C / 20°C

Oman team to reassemble on March 15

No Image

MUSCAT: The players of the Oman national football team will begin their participation with their clubs in the Omantel League which will resume on Tuesday, after the stop for the 25th Arabian Gulf Cup.

The national team will reassemble on March 15 to prepare for the West Asian Championship, which will be held in the UAE.

The Red Warriors will also gear up for the matches against Afghanistan and Qatar in the double qualifiers for the Asian Cup and the World Cups.

Head coach Branko Ivankovic will choose the players from his follow-up to the league matches, and there will be a second camp for the team from February 23 to 25. The Oman coach aims through these gatherings to get to know closely the levels of the players before announcing the final list for the training camp on March 15.


The West Asian Football Federation announced the participation teams in the 10th West Asian Federation Championship for men, to be held in the UAE from March 20 to April 2, 2023.

The West Asian Federation invited the Thailand national team to participate in the tournament as a guest team along with 11 teams which are: hosts the UAE, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Sultanate of Oman, Yemen, Iraq, Jordan, Palestine, Lebanon and Syria.

The men's championship was launched in 2000 with the establishment of the first edition in Jordan. The cup commemorates the late Jordan King Hussein bin Talal, which remained with throughout the editions of the tournament. Iranian team won the opening title.

The second edition of the tournament took place in 2002 in Syria, and the Iraqi team won the title. Iran hosted the third edition and were the champions in 2004, before retaining the title of the fourth editions in Jordan 2007, and the fifth in Iran in 2008.

After that, Jordan hosted the sixth edition in 2010, when Kuwait won the title, and then hosted the seventh edition in 2012, in which Syria claimed the title. The eighth edition was held in Qatar in 2014 and won by the hosts, and finally in Iraq 2019, where the Bahraini team won the title.

arrow up
home icon