Saturday, January 28, 2023 | Rajab 5, 1444 H
light rain
19°C / 19°C

Tatterson emerges winner in first Oman digital drift

Rhys Tatterson claimed the title in the first Oman Digital Drift Championship after beating Khalid al Azwar in the final round at the Oman Automobile Association’s (OAA) Muscat Drift Arena on Tuesday night.

The competition brought together professional racers and local gamers to race in the digital challenge for the first time in the history of the Oman international Drift Championship (OIDC) 2023 in Muscat.

The OIDC drivers competed with the local gamers in the digital challenge.

The drift digital championship was a mixed event between pro drivers and digital drivers. Eight players from each team competed in eight rounds, and the player who gathered the most points qualified for the top-four stage.

Alan Hayens, Rhys Tatterson, Khalid al Azwar from the driver’s team, and Ahmed al Amri -- the only player from the gamer's team – made it to the top four.

Khalid al Azwar beat Alan Hayens, both from the drivers’ team, in the first round of the top-four to qualify for the final.

Ahmed al Amri finished third after defeating Alan Hayens in the play-off.

Rhys Tatterson emerged as the first Oman digital drift champion after beating Al Azwar in the final round.

Earlier, Faisal al Kharsi from the gamer's team won the opening round against Sam Sheffield from the driver’s team.

A capacity crowd was present at the Oman Automobile Association Muscat Drift Arena to watch and support both teams.

Alan Haynes got the first win for the driver’s team against Noha al Balushi from the gamer’s team.

Jordan driver Ahmed Daham from the driver’s team lost the competition against Mustafa al Balushi in the starting round.

After the end of the competition, the drift fans had the opportunity to meet their favourite drift stars in the OAA’s ‘meet and greet’ programme for the fans.

arrow up
home icon