Monday, March 27, 2023 | Ramadan 4, 1444 H
clear sky
23°C / 23°C

Oman post second win in NEOM Cup 2022

National beach soccer side stuns Japan in first match
No Image

Oman beach soccer team registered their second triumph in the second edition of NEOM Beach Soccer Cup 2022 as they defeated Bahrain 3-1 on Friday for group B matches.

The ongoing tournament in Saudi Arabia featured strong start for the Omani men as they began the tournament beating Japan, Fifa Beach Soccer World Cup runners-up, 6-5. In the second match, Oman suffered a 6-3 loss against favourites Brazil. Oman are grouped in Group B besides Brazil, Japan and Bahrain teams.

Against Bahrain, experienced national beach soccer head coach Talib Hilal, started the match with a line-up comprised of Said al Farsi as goalkeeper, Yahya al Muraiki and Abdullah al Souti were in defence while Mashal al Oraimi monitored the centre and the forward striker was experienced Sami al Balushi. The selected substitutions were Amjad al Hamdani, Moundher al Oraimi, Younis al Owaisi, Sameer al Saad, Khalid al Oraimi, Nooh al Battashi and Ahmed al Owaisi.

Bahrain’s Abdullah put his team ahead and Oman could get the equaliser three minutes later in the first quarter of the match through Sami al Balushi. Oman heroes increased the margin to 3-1 when Yahya al Mraiki scored a brace later in the game. The win took Oman’s credit to six points from two victories against Japan and Bahrain.

Oman were crowned as champions of the previous edition in 2019 after beating Egypt in the final.

This is a crucial participation for Oman after their last appearance at the West Asian Football Federation (WAFF) Beach Soccer Championship in Jezan city, Saudi Arabia, where they ended as runners-up. The NEOM event is part of Oman’s gearing up for the 2023 AFC Beach Soccer Asian Cup in Thailand in next March. The Asian event will act as a qualifier for the upcoming edition of Fifa Beach Soccer World Cup and the hosts will be decided in next month in Dubai.

Oman Squad: Khalid al Oraimi, Munthir al Oraimi, Mishaal al Oraimi, Abdullah al Souti, Amjad al Hamadani, Said al Farsi, Sami al Balushi, Younis al Owaisi, Yahya al Muriki, Abdulrahman al Fazari, Sameer al Saadi, Nooh al Battashi, Talal al Awadi and Ahmed al Owaisi.

arrow up
home icon