Thursday, February 02, 2023 | Rajab 10, 1444 H
clear sky
19°C / 19°C

Qurum Thunders crowned D10 champions

No Image

Muscat: Consistency marked the journey of Qurum Thunders to the summit as they were crowned champions of the second edition of Oman D10 Championship, which concluded at the Oman Cricket Academy ground in Al Amerat, recently.

In a power-packed display in the final, Qurum Thunders outclassed Amerat Royals by seven wickets to bring curtains down on the 12-day exciting tournament, organised by Oman Cricket (OC).

A lot was expected in the summit clash between the two teams with Amerat Royals displaying impressive form in the group stages and then overpowering Ruwi Rangers in the semifinals.

While Amerat and Qurum had won eight of their 12 matches, Ruwi was one better with nine victories in their league stage. However, Amerat stopped the streak of Ruwi to set a clash with Qurum.

Samay Shrivastav, the wily spinner of Qurum, turned out to be the architect of Qurum’s title triumph as he bagged four wickets, including three in one over, to deflate the Amerat batting line-up. Amerat were restricted to 63/8 with Pratik Athawale the top-scorer with 22.

Qurum’s chase was rocked early as Bilal Khan dismissed opener Kashyap Prajapati early but the experienced batters, skipper Jatinder Singh and Shoaib Khan, took the team closer to the target before getting out to Mohit Patel. Ayaan Khan and Hashir Dafedar led the team to win with four balls to spare.

The title was the first trophy for Qurum Thunders of the 2022-23 season and they will now hope to carry the momentum in the Premier League ODI and T20 formats.

The second edition of Oman D10 witnessed 46 matches being played and saw a total of 443 maximums and 560 boundaries being smashed while a total 444 wickets fell.

Shrivastav was adjudged Player of the Final for four taking four wickets for just four runs. Syed Aamir Kaleem was adjudged the Player of the Tournament for his allround performance. He smashed 285 runs and claimed 17 wickets in 11 matches.

At the post-match presentation ceremony, Pankaj Khimji, OC chairman, handed the champions trophy to Qurum Thunders skipper Jatinder Singh.

Varun Khimji, OC advisor, handed the runners-up trophy Amerat Royals captain Karan Sonavale. Nayeem Khan, Senior Manager, ITW Universe, Qasim Al Rahbi and Duleep Mendis, OC chief development officer, presented the other individual awards and mementoes.

Brief scores: Amerat Royals 63/8 in 10 overs (Pratik Athawale 22, 3x4, 1x6; Samay Shrivastav 4/4; Ganesh N 3/9) lost to Qurum Thunders 66/3 in 7.2 overs (Hashir Dafedar 13, 1x4, 1x6, Ayaan Khan 14; Mohit Patel 2/13).

arrow up
home icon