Qatar offers visa-free entry to 80 nationalities

DOHA: Qatar announced on Wednesday a programme to allow visa-free entry for citizens of 80 countries to encourage air transport and tourism.
Nationals from dozens of countries in Europe and elsewhere including India, Lebanon, New Zealand, South Africa, and the United States only need a valid passport to enter the country which hosts the soccer World Cup in 2022. Nationals of 33 countries will be allowed to stay for 180 days and the other 47 for up to 30 days.
“The visa exemption scheme will make Qatar the most open country in the region,” Hassan al Ibrahim, Chief Tourism Development officer at Qatar Tourism Authority, told reporters at a press conference in Doha. Both categories can use their waivers on single and multi-entry trips, he said. The exemptions take an immediate effect. “We are delighted to invite visitors to discover our renowned hospitality, cultural heritage and natural treasures,” he added. — Agencies