OTA organises line umpires course ahead of Davis Cup tourney

MUSCAT: The Oman Tennis Association (OTA) is organising the line umpires course before the start of the 2018 Davis Cup Asia/Oceania Group IV competition. The course started at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex on Wednesday and will conclude on Thursday. The course is conducted by ITF-appointed chief umpire Essam Saleh from Egypt and he is assisted by Indian umpire Karthikeyan Venketesan. The course is aimed at selecting Omani line umpires to officiate at the Davis Cup Asia/Oceania Group IV competition. OTA Executive Director and Tournament Co-ordinator Salman al Balushi said: “There was a huge response for this line umpires course. Former tennis players and members of various clubs from across the Sultanate have shown interest and they were very eager to undergo the training. Encouraged by the huge response we have invited as many as 40 people from all over the country to take part in the course.”
“The course is mainly aimed at selecting Omani line umpires for the Davis Cup Asia/Oceania Group IV competition. But it is also an opportunity for the Oman Tennis Association to give Omanis a chance to become umpires and develop them for the future.”
The Oman Tennis Association has also invited a number of expatriates to be the line umpires during the tournament.
The OTA will organise the 2018 Davis Cup Asia/Oceania Group IV competition from January 29 to February 3.
Apart from Oman, 11 other countries will take part in the competition. Top two teams will get promoted to Group III in 2019.
The other teams are Bahrain, Bangladesh, Guam, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Myanmar, Singapore, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and United Arab Emirates.
Oman team will be represented by Mohammed al Nabhani, Abdullah Hamdi al Barwani, Younis Tufail al Rawahi and Muneer Tufail al Rawahi. Siddique al Hashmi is the non-playing captain of the team.
The list of ITF-appointed umpires:
Essam Saleh (Egypt), Wael Abbas (Egypt), Sergei Dubrov (Belarus), Leo Wang (China), Saman Hassani (Iran), Saibal Banerjee (India), Sina Ebrahimian (Iran), Karthikeyan Venketeson (India), Mohammed Abdullah (Qatar), Ali Almutairi (Kuwait), Jassim Akakah (Saudi Arabia) and Ronald Oduor (Kenya).
List of line umpires attending the course
(all Omanis):
Hood Hammod al Julandani, Ayman al Harrasi, Zuheir al Toubi, Abdulhakim al Hasani, Naserallah al Hosni, Mazen al Nassri, Hassan al Busaidi, Sultan al Muqbali, Musallam al Harbi, Hani Ahmed Said Fadhil, Abdulrazzaq Saad Salim, Salim al Falahi, Mohammed al Braiki, Yousuf al Falahi, Loay al Hinai, Asad al Hinai, Fatima al Shidi, Omran al Balushi, Mohammed Salman al Balushi, Abdullah Ali al Balushi, Said Nasser, Hamed Ayub, Hamed Salem al Wahibi, Ouf Abdullah al Maamari, Asaad al Qarni, Yousif Saif, Abdulrahman al Hajri, Faisal al Balushi and Asad Saif.