Khawar, Sanuth receive top prizes at Oman Cricket’s annual awards night

MUSCAT: Khawar Ali and Sanuth Ibrahim of Enahnce received the Premier Division’s best batsman and best bowler prize respectively on Wednesday as Sultanate’s cricket fraternity came together at Oman Cricket’s Annual Awards Night to acknowledge the achievements of leading teams and players at Al Falaj Hotel.
Ayaan Mohammed Khan of Muscat CT was adjudged the best all-rounder for excellent performance in his first season in Oman. Leading the honours for Omani cricketers playing for more than one team, Shuaib Ismail al Balushi (OCT Muscat and White Lotus) and Sufyan Mahmood (Enhance and Oct Seeb) won the best batsman and best bowler awards respectively. Shuaib Ismail also collected the best all-rounder award.
The teams and players received their awards from Shaikh Saad bin Mohammed al Saadi, Minister of Sports Affairs, who was the chief guest, in the presence of Kanak Khimji, OC Chairman and other Board members. The awards gala was also attended by foreign diplomats, local dignitaries, leading businessmen and community leaders.
Announcing the salient features of the previous season, Oman Cricket briefed the audience on the achievements of an eventful year in its annual report. It also highlighted its future plans and long-term goals.
Assarain had won the Premier Division League title last season while Muscat CT ended up as the runner-up. The T20 League trophy went to Passage to India with Assarain ending up second.
A whopping 117 teams are taking part in the current season (2018-19) that started on September 14 at various cricket grounds in the Oman capital.
List of winning teams and award-winning players for the season 2017-18:
Premier T20 League
Winners: Passage to India
Runners-up: Assarain CT
Premier division: Sponsored by Muscat Pharmacy & Stores
Winners: Assarain CT
Runners-up: Muscat CT
‘A’ division: Sponsored by Khimji Ramdas LLC
Winners: MDC Enhance
Runners-up: Salman Stores
‘B’ division: Sponsored by Al Ansari Group of Companies
Winners: Platinum Services Diamond
Runners-up: Zawawi Power Tech
‘C’ division: Sponsored by Raha Polyproducts
Winners: OCT Seeb
Runners-up: Basta CT
‘D’ division: Sponsored by Enhance
Winners: Trust Oilfield Services
Runners-up: Waves Engineering Consultancy
‘E’ division
Winners: National Bank of Oman
Runners-up: Fahad Express
‘F’ division
Winners: Khalsa United
Runners-up: RAHRC
‘G’ division
Winners: Unique Elegant
Runners-up: Classic Cricket Club
‘H’ division
Winners: Maxitech International
Runners-up: Global United Business
‘I’ division
Winners: Ibn Blasters
Runners-up: Danmark Cricket Club
Omani nationals playing for 1 team
Best batsman: Mohammed al Balushi – OCT Al Nahda
Best bowler: Issam al Balushi – OCT Seeb
Consolation bowling: Zubair Akbar al Balushi – OCT Muscat
Best all-rounder: Mohammed Ali Akbar al Balushi
– OCT Muscat
Omani nationals playing for more than 1 team
Best batsman: Shuhaib Ismail al Balushi- OCT Muscat & White Lotus
Best bowler: Sufyan Mahmood – Enhance & OCT Seeb
Best all-rounder: Shuhaib Ismail al Balushi- OCT Muscat & White Lotus
Best batsman: Khawar Ali – Enhance
Best bowler: Sanuth Mohammed Ibrahim – Enhance
Best all-rounder: Ayaan Mohammed Khan
– Muscat CT
Best batsman: Pranav Mehta – MDC Enhance
Best bowler: Batagoda Ranasinghe – Renaissance
Consolation batting: Jahanzeb Asgar Ali – Salman Stores
Consolation bowling: Ahsan Fonseka – Sinha CT
Best all-rounder: Batagoda Ranasinghe – Renaissance
Best batsman: Muhammad Nadeem Ashaq – White Lotus Intl
Best bowler: Chadith Lakmal – Platinum Services Diamond
Consolation bowling: Nazish Mohammed – White Lotus Intl
Best batsman: Sufyan Mahmood – OCT Seeb
Best bowler: Sufyan Mahmood – OCT Seeb
Consolation batting: Abdul Naveed Abdul Majeed – PDO
Consolation bowling: Rajesh Khetani- PDO
Best all-rounder: Batagoda Ranasinghe – Renaissance
Best batsman: Kamaljot Singh- Waves Engineering
Best bowler: Satham Hussain – Al Fairuz
Best all-rounder: Satham Hussain – Al Fairuz
Best batsman: Vijesh Nair – Fahad Express
Best bowler: Sooraj Raj- Fahad Express
Consolation batting: Syed Irfan Ali -NBO
Best batsman: Imran Syed – Ahli Bank
Best bowler: Arvind Singh – Khalsa United
Consolation bowling: Haneef Hodekar – Mehul Ent
Consolation bowling: Kishore Namboothri – Mustafa Sultan Ent.
Best batsman: Suketu Manilal Limbani – Unique Elegant
Best bowler: Irtaza Ahmed – Unique Elegant
Consolation batting: Sohail Khan – Unique Elegant
Consolation batting: Mohammed al Balushi – OCT Al Nahda
Best batsman: Ibrar Hussain – Global United
Best bowler: Gopakumar Gopal – FHD Crazy Challengers
Best batsman: Abhimanyu Bhati – Danmark CT
Best bowler: Mujahid Surve – Taurus XI
Consolation batting: Doresh Devender – Danmark CT
Best all-rounder: Vibin Panaparambil – Ibn Blasters