Abdelkarim, Shuang clinch AFC honours

Muscat: Qatar’s Abdelkarim Hassan and China’s Wang Shuang were honoured with the men’s and women’s player of the year awards at a glittering AFC Annual Awards night in Muscat 2018.
Abdelkarim, who plays for Qatar’s Al Sadd Club, dedicated the award to the Emir of Qatar, the Qatar Football Association and the Qatari people.
“I am very glad and proud to win the award and it’s an honour. I am the second player from Qatar to win the award and I feel at a personal level, it is the dream of every player to win this award. I thank all my colleagues at the club and national level for helping me improve my game,” he added.
The women’s winner Wang Shuan said she was surprised and excited after her win.
“I thank AFC for bestowing me with the honour. I feel I have a lot more to do and hopefully I will come up with an even better performance at next year’s Women’s World Cup,” Shuang said.
Japan sweeped the awards in the AFC Coach of the Year section as Kashima Antlers coach Go Oiwa bagged the men’s award.
Asako Takakura was honoured with the women’s coach of the year award in a double whammy for the Japanese.
List of Awards at AFC Annual Awards Muscat 2018:
Special Recognition Award: Wild Boars FC and Futoshi Ikeda
AFC Diamond of Asia Award: Zhang Jilong
AFC Member Association of the Year in Aspiring category: Mongolian FA
AFC MA in Developing category: DPR Korea
AFC MA Inspiring: Japan FA
AFC President Recognition Award for Grassroots football in Aspiring Category:
Palestine FA
Developing Category: Football Association of Singapore
Inspiring: Chinese FA
AFC Futsal Player of the Year Award: Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh of Iran

Oman Observer

To get free breaking news and updates from Oman Observer, WhatsApp your name and email to 96473232. https://www.omanobserver.om/ is now on Telegram. Join our channel https://t.me/OmanObserverNews in your Telegram and stay updated

observer has 9609 posts and counting.See all posts by observer