11 Indian school teachers win excellence awards

The prestigious ‘Navin Asher-Kazi Awards for Excellence in Teaching’ instituted by the Board of Directors of Indian Schools in Oman, were conferred on eleven teachers from Indian Schools in the Sultanate held recently at the Indian School Al Seeb.
The ceremony was attended by Indra Mani Pandey, the ambassador of India to the Sultanate of Oman and Tariq Hilal Al Barwani, founder and chairman of Knowledge Oman as well as luminaries of Indian diaspora, officials from Ministry of Education, nominees for the awards, members of the school Management Committees, principals and senior staff of Indian Schools.
Five awards each went to first and second position holders respectively and one special award went to Apex Centre for Special education.
First positions in each of the categories were Shaheen Kasmani (Kindergarten-ISM), Apolonia Joseph (Primary – ISM), Zacharias Jacob (Middle – ISM), PV Ananthalakshmi (Secondary / Senior Secondary – IS Salalah) and Johns K Abraham (Co-scholastic – ISM).
The Special Award for the Centre for Special Education went to Shanthivijayaraaghavan.
In second positions were Jayasree Parameswaran (Kindergarten-IS Seeb), Ernst George Schwan (Primary – ISWK), Unnikrishnan K (Middle – IS Salalah), VS Suresh (Secondary/Senior Secondary – IS Muladha) and Sarala Devi Sankar (Co-scholastic – ISD).
All nominees were presented with certificates of recognition on the occasion.
There were sixty-eight teachers nominated from different Indian schools for the Awards.