Tenzin wins Muscat Open golf title

MUSCAT: Tenzin Tsarong from Ghala Golf Club bagged the 2018 Muscat Open Golf Championship played at Ras Al Hamra Golf Club on February 23 and 24.
More than sixty of Oman’s best golfers and 20 players from abroad, were teeing off in the 45th edition of Oman’s longest running Open golf championship.
The competition turned out to be the closest one, with five players in reaching distance of the trophy. The leaderboard changed on several occasions, a new champion emerged, in which Tenzin Tsarong from Ghala Golf Club sealed the trophy on the final hole, with an overall gross score of 151, ahead of four former Muscat Open winners. Jeff Campbell from Ghala Golf Club took second place with a score of 152, followed by Nasser Yacoob, representing Bahrain Golf Club, Azaan al Rumhy from Al Mouj Golf Club and Yaseen Le Falher from Royal Bahrain Golf Club, all with a score of 154.
Tenzin Tsarong said, “It was an excellent tournament with a great organisation and fantastic course conditions. I’m extremely happy to finally win the Muscat Open Golf Championship, and I’m proud that I managed to sustain the pressure and keep my lead on the final few holes.”
The Nett Prize category turned out to be a competition between players from the ‘home club’ Ras Al Hamra Golf Club. John Ambrose won the overall prize with a nett score of 143, ahead of Geoffrey Murray on 146 and Salim al Harthy with a net score of 148. Ronan Smith from Royal Bahrain Golf Club won the Junior Best Gross prize.
At the prize giving ceremony held at the RAH Recreation Club the Muscat Open President, Gary Battersby, thanked the players, the organising committee and all the volunteers and sponsors. The many prizes were then presented to all the winners by the Managing Director of PDO, Raoul Restucci, as well as by representatives from the sponsors, before the evening was concluded with a buffet dinner and raffle draw.
Overall Gross Prizes
1st Gross & Champion: Tenzin Tsarong, 151
2nd Gross: Jeff Campbell, 152
3rd Gross: Nasser Yaqoob, 154
4th Gross: Azaan al Rumhy, 154
5th Gross: Yaseen Le Falher, 154
Junior Best Gross: Ronan Smith, 165
Overall Nett Prizes
1st Nett: John Ambrose, 143
2nd Nett:Geoffrey Murray, 146
3rd Nett: Salim al Harthy, 148
4th Nett: Kyle Rourke, 148
5th Nett: Tore Solberg, 149
Junior Best Nett: Sebastian Woodrow, 152
Plate: Thomas Varghese, 154
Daily Prizes
Best Gross Day 1: Lynn Casey, 81
Best Gross Day 2: Conor Lynch, 78
Best Nett Day 1: Desmond Riordan, 71
Best Nett Day 2: Juan Jose Benayas, 70